All’s Well That Ends Well.

I think I can safely say it was a very successful Xmas. The chicklets were happy with their haul, and clever, clever santa putting in those new games for the DS ( es?) was a stroke of luck which led to hours and hours of peace and quiet. Even Kev can’t play DS and the piano at the same time.
Boxing Day we had the cold meats, and yesterday was turkey pie, people dropped in and out for the duration and I can’t say I could ask for more.
Yesterday was also our 17th Wedding Anniversary. The Man wanted to drink to 17 more I said I’d give him 3 tops!

The greatest gift we received this year was from Aunty Liza, the ‘brining queen’, aside from the brining tip she sent us ‘Mamma Mia’
. Now those of you who live in countries where new films are often shown when they are, well NEW, probably saw it at the cinema and went to the singalongs, but ABBA dubbed in Japanese did not appeal to me, so this was the first we had seen of what everyone was raving about.
I would guess we have now watched it about 15 times since the 25th and we LOVE it. I can’t even begin to say which bit I like best, but it had us dancing, singing , laughing and crying. Well fair enough, only I danced and cried, but the kids do LOVE it and and when I ask them what they want to watch next, although they say KUNG FU PANDA, they are quick to agree to my demand suggestion that we watch ‘Mamma Mia’ again.

We also managed to squeeze in our other Christmas picks. GREASE, which Sunshine has seen a dozen times with me before but Doris had not. A whole new generation lusting after John Travolta. I mentioned how my friend and I used to lick the TV screen when Top of the Pops showed ‘You’re the One that I Want’, and they looked at me like I am mad, a look I get a lot.
‘Ferris Bueller’s Day Off’ pleased the whole crowd, and the gals loved Dirty Dancing, though it has been years since I saw it, I was surprised and a little freaked out by the fact that I now find Jerry Orbach more attractive than Patrick Swayzee, even though poor Gerry is gone now.
Maybe because they don’t see that many non Japanese people whenever we watch anything my kids always point out who looks like me.
Mamma Mia I am a dead ringer for Julie Walters.
Dirty Dancing, I am Jennifer Grey
Grease, I am Rizzo, and sadly in Ferris Bueller, I am Alan Ruck.
All in all an excellent holiday season. Now just have to brace myself for round two as we begin Oshougatsu ( New Year) the biggest holiday on the Japanese calender.
I fear I will need to shop for bigger clothes by the time it’s all over.

Welcome to the dark side, you'll find we're a friendly bunch.

