SANKANBI

Today was ‘sankanbi’ at the school. that is when the parents mothers turn up to watch the lesson. It usually involves whispering in the corridor about the horrors of yakkuin or how best to lose 10lbs by next Friday, but today, being the last sankanbi of the school year, the kids all did a little performance.
I was blindsided rather, as I had been given the letter saying it was on Thursday and I was wondering how on earth I could fit it in, except by moving, Thursday stuff to Wednesday, which I can’t it’s a National Holiday, so move it to Friday, but then where will I put Friday? So while I was shuffling the schedule around like something off The Crypton Factor, Jim says, ‘ Oh sankanbi tomorrow’. I say, ‘ No beloved son, you’ve got your days wrong again, it’s on Thursday.’
and he, he with his beatific smile, totally trashes my day, no my whole week and says,
‘ Kev’s is on Thursday, mine’s tomorrow, oh and by the way ,as you obviously don’t have a clue what is going on, let me fill you in, Doris’ is on Friday.’
Bugger! That’s all I can say.
Anyway I went to Jim’s and it was SO cute. The theme was ‘something I have learned to do this year’.
Skipping ropes were very popular, one girl can now jump the rope over 100 times, another kids can speed skip, another can skip backwards. Jim played, ” When The Saint’s Come Marching In’ on the kenban harmonica.
They all demonstrated their new found skills.
Then one kid, completely cracked me up, he said he had learned to ‘slide’. Yep SLIDE and then he showed us he wasn’t lying. He slid this-away and that-away with a huge grin on his face and finished with a long slowslide ending at the back of the classroom, narrowly missing breaking his nose in five places against the lockers.

The grand finale was when the class, all of them armed with their kenban harmonicas on strings around their necks, played, very loudly, and not entirely ‘together’, and I kid you not…FUR ELISE of course.
I thought my head was going to explode around the room and was worried I didn’t have a handy pack of ’tish’ to clean it up, cos that would have been rude.
Seems I will not escape it.
What does Kev have in store on Thursday I wonder.

4 thoughts on “SANKANBI

  1. Being a teacher, I really enjoyed this. I love the idea that they had to demonstrate something new they had learned.

    I would have loved to see the slider! I think I am glad to have missed Fur Elise! haha

    Where do you live????

  2. Is sankabi the same as jugyo sankan? I have no idea what either word means. It it’s the same, then ours is all day long. It was great for me. I went from 8:20 for an hour and then from 11 for another hour-in between work.

  3. yes, it’s the same thing. Ours varies.
    Once a year they are all on the same day at the same time, so I can just dash about.
    Once it is on a Sunday ( nichyousankan) so fathers can go, usually in June near Father’s Day.
    Another time is grades, 1-3 one day and 4-6 another.
    This time it’s grades 1and 2, 3 and 4 and then 5 and 6.
    the three day thing is a bit of a pain but as they are all doing a peformance I will be able to watch everyones.
    We also have the all day thing once a year, and you can eat a school lunch with all the kids if you fill out the form and pay the money, but DANG if I don’t always forget.;)

  4. Ours was equally cute. They did a song -the Very Hungry Caterpillar which got stuck in my head for a week but I loved it. Biggie did Cat poses on the yoga mat, he’s rather flexible it seems! Not long to go of the school year!

Welcome to the dark side, you'll find we're a friendly bunch.

