Tuesday’s Child is Full of Grace

Graceful is not how I felt as I hobbled off to the hospital to get the manky foot and the consumptive chest checked out.

Manky foot first, he took some scrapings and said he didn’t know what it was, but here, try this cream and come back next week.

Next stop chest guy who sent me off for a blood test, an EEG and a chest X-ray.
It was all easy run of the mill routine stuff, oh except for the part where the radiologist is my student’s husband, bet when he picked his wife up from her lesson he never thought the next time he saw me he’d be asking me to take off my clothes, life is so full of surprises.
Results came in, in both foot and chest departments I am a medical mystery. He doesn’t know what is causing my cough. I thought it might possibly be caused by whatever the huge shadow on my X-ray was. Doc skimmed over it, obviously not sure how to break the news to me. He prescribed an anti-biotic, as white cell count was indicating infection and told me to come back in a week.
I tried to make things easy for him by bringing it up, I said,

‘Sorry’ (standard way to start a sentence in Japanese) ‘I know I’m not a doctor, but I am worried about that huge shadow across my lungs in the X-ray. Do you know what that is?”

He said, “I do indeed (because I AM a doctor) it’s your heart.”

ME, “Well good, that’s good isn’t it, I have a heart.”

HIM “Yes it is indeed good.”

Excellent then, I and my mysteries will come back next week.

3 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Child is Full of Grace

  1. lmao too…my Dh did the same when the baby needed a chest x-ray.I sat in silence and felt sooo smug that he got there before me with the question;)

    So the foot drama continues then…

  2. Hopefully, because they’ve come up so fast on your foot they won’t be anything serious. And I’m glad to hear that your heart is in the right place!

Welcome to the dark side, you'll find we're a friendly bunch.

