Should I Stay or SHould I Go Now ( Go Now)

Oh the songs that run through your brain when you’re facing the possibility of radiation coming your way.
This is all a bit of a nightmare really, trying to decide what to do for the best.
I think right now where we are ( West) we are safe for the time being, but personally I think things will get worse.
Personal update is, am cancelling tickets for India trip, a trip which I’ll say was probably doomed from the start considering we started off planning to go to the middle -east and it imploded, and now this, if the universe doesn’t want Ditoh and I to holiday together it only had to say so, no need for the dramatics!!
So will go somewhere, possibly a road trip head south west in Japan, possibly another Asian country with my sons, while The Man makes contingency plans to leave with the girls if necessary, possibly a longer term, get far away for a while plan.

I have to say I really feel for my friends in the East who have to try to make these decisions after little sleep, constant after shocks, power outages etc…. will see how the next few days go.

My friends who were supposed to visit cancelled but one of them’s son was working in Tokyo and he has evacuated here, so he is eating all the scrummy food I bought for their visit, I like the symmetry, keeping it in the family.

Can’t get the workers off my mind, the people working in the reactors!!

Some wonderful stories of survival coming out though, a man 6 miles out to sea clutching a piece of his house, a three month old baby…. what an azaing job these rescue workers do, they’ve certainly had thier work cut out recently, globally!

12 thoughts on “Should I Stay or SHould I Go Now ( Go Now)

  1. I didn’t realise you were in Japan, don’t know why but I thought you were in the US. I hope you are ok, I only know one other person over there, he’s staying at the moment but may take his family home to Canada if it gets any worse.
    Thinking of you.

  2. So sorry you’ve had to cancel India – if anyone needs a holiday it’s you! But I can see the wisdom in not committing resources to it when you might need them sooner and more urgently. I keep thinking about the workers in the reactors too – not a job I’d want in a million years. They are brave souls. Glad you are all safe – praying you stay that way.

  3. A terrible situation for you, especially as you’ve made your home there. Have been watching the news (like everyone), and am amazed at the bravery of everyone caught up in it. Not a very settled planet are we?
    I started reading your blog this morning and it looks like I’m going to need a few weeks! Glad I found it!

  4. Can only imagine what you are feeling and going through. I have been following your blog for a over a year now and have to say that you, your family and your countrymen are very much in my thoughts. I wish you wisdom and luck in all you face. You are brave and resourceful. x

  5. Holidays can be caught up on.

    I heard one commentator who understands the nuclear business say that the situation in Japan is not as serious as the 3 Mile thing that we’ve all forgotten about.

    It’s early days and I’m sure that as time moves on and people get to deal with the immediate physical problems that natural human optimism will take over.

    This time next year it will seem so different. Even now we are starting to look at the wonderful stories of survival.

    Having said that my heart has gone out to those directly involved and my admiration for those who are having to cope is very high.

    Long term, it will be those who have lost family, and there are many of those, who will need most help. It’s those who have suffered emotional loss, not physical loss, who will need that help.

    • You make a lot of sense, things WILL look differently in a year, it is those who have lost their people need the kost help and optimism will take over.

      problem with the reactor info is the world and his wife have suddenly become experts, one person says there isn’t a problem, next guy says there is, so we have to be careful what we read, think hard about the source etc, last couple of days I just avoided reading things where I could.It’s weird, cos I had a day off and spent most of glue to the TV/Twitter/Fb etc and felt massively depressed and hopeless, then the enxt day I was busy with the task of going about my day, didn’t see/read a thing and my only dilemma was soba or udon for dinner. There’s a fine line between being informed and being saturated.

  6. I hadn’t heard about the man found alive out at sea – that’s awesome. Need to hang on to those stories. Too sad and too devastating. Plenty of room down here too, minus the earthquakes, plus a mother in law 🙂

    • Thanks GW, because I was planning to be away for Spring hol anyway, I thought maybe I’d just drive towards Kyushu and avail myself of all that amazing FW hospitality, but with the petrol shortages/rations etc, I’m thinking it’s not a good use of resources, and thanks for the offer, I would love to come one day!!

Welcome to the dark side, you'll find we're a friendly bunch.

