British Rail? Why are the fares in $US?

Sorry been a bit AWOL again, cat sagas, long, labour intensive, cat sagas, will post on that.
Meanwhile I am trying to advance book a train from London to Yorkshire.
First it tell me my dates are too far in advance, so to get an idea of the fare I put in an earlier date.
89 days in advance rather than 90.
I got this message.

Please note that there may be additional fares available for some British trains; if you cannot find what you need here, please call us in the US at 1-800-622-8600, in Canada at 1-800-361-7245, and in Mexico at 001-800-726-1936.

I know I’ve been gone a while, but really? Why would folk have to call the US/Canada or Mexico to book a train on British Rail?
What have I missed??
And the fare, 89 days in advance $US 461. Isn’t that a tad steep?

4 thoughts on “British Rail? Why are the fares in $US?

  1. That doesn’t make any sense. They only thing I can think of is that it picked up your IP address as being abroad. Do you want me to have a look from here? Just message me the dates/stations and I will search for you. xx

Welcome to the dark side, you'll find we're a friendly bunch.

